• Air date: 29 Jan '23 4 episodes
      A sharp detective with a messy life, DCI Vera Stanhope patrols her “patch” of northeast England, pursuing the truth in cases of murder, kidnapping, and blackmail. Vera is obsessive about her work and faces the world with caustic wit, guile and courage.
  • List of Episodes (4)
    • 1. Against the Tide

      29 Jan '23
      Vera is called to a lighthouse when the body of a local council worker is found in a sailboat, but it becomes clear that his life wasn't plain sailing.
    • 2. For The Grace of God

      05 Feb '23
      Vera attends to the body of an ex-soldier who ended up on the streets and finds that events in his past and the present made for a deadly future
    • 3. Blue

      12 Feb '23
      Joel Kingston is a copper’s copper from a respected and notable police family but when he is found dead, floating in a park lake, DCI Vera Stanhope (Brenda Blethyn) finds herself investigating both sides of the thin blue line in order to find his killer. A complex family dynamic, tensions at work, and brushes with the underworld, paint a dark and complex picture. Joel was there to serve and protect but did his stubborn commitment to justice at any price lead to his death? Or, was he killed to
    • 4. The Darkest Evening

      19 Feb '23
      On the night of a massive storm, trying to get home, DCI Vera Stanhope (Brenda Blethyn) comes across an abandoned car with a baby inside. With no mobile signal and blocked roads at every turn, Vera is forced to seek refuge somewhere she’d rather not be, Brockburn House, the Stanhope’s ancestral pile. Vera doesn’t exactly receive a warm welcome from her estranged family as there’s a function in full swing and her turning up with a baby isn’t a great look. Things start to look even worse