Sense and Sensibility : Season 1

    • Air date: 01 Feb '81 7 episodes
  • List of Episodes (7)

    1. Part 1

    • Although the half-brother of Elinor, Marianne, and the younger Margaret promised to care for his half-sisters, his wife convinces him he bears no financial obligation. Mr. And Mrs. John Dashwood take over the residence in Norland, leaving Mrs. Henry Dashwood and her daughters to feel like guests in their own home.

    2. Part 2

    • Marianne cannot understand Elinor's philosophical acceptance of their new lives at Barton Cottage as her own heart is breaking for their beloved house at Norwood.

    3. Part 3

    • Just as it seems that Willoughby and Marianne must be about to announce their engagement, he departs for London, leaving her bewildered and desolate.

    4. Part 4

    • Elinor has promised to keep the secret of Edward Ferrar's engagement to Lucy Steel. She manages to conceal her unhappiness even from Marianne, who is overjoyed to visit London.

    5. Part 5

    • Marianne's heart is doubly broken by a yet more callous rejection by Willoughby. Elinor is to meet Edward's mother.

    6. Part 6

    • The sisters are to end their unhappy stay in London. Elinor is now as desolate as Marianne, as the secret of Edward's engagement is out at last and he intends to stand by it.

    7. Part 7

    • Marianne is at last out of danger. Elinor has received a visit from the desperately penitent Willoughby.