• Air date: 07 Jan '22 9 episodes
      Aracy de Carvalho is a young clerk at the Brazilian Consulate. For two years, she has been secretly issuing passports to Jews without the dreaded "J" stamp, which not only won't allow them to travel, but will doom them to the horrors of concentration camps. When newly appointed diplomat, João Guimarães Rosa, arrives in Hamburg, the two fall madly in love. Aracy would later be honored by the Yad Vashem with the Righteous Among the Nations Award. João would be known as the greatest Brazilian writer of the twentieth century.
  • List of Episodes (9)
    • 1. Episode 1

      20 Dec '21
      Brazil’s Deputy Consul João Guimarães Rosa arrives in Hamburg on the eve of World War II to meet Aracy De Carvalho, a consulate clerk who’s secretly smuggling Jews out of Nazi Germany.
    • 2. Episode 2

      21 Dec '21
      Aracy redoubles her efforts to secure visas to Brazil after the shooting of a German diplomat in Paris unleashes a campaign of violence against Jews in Hamburg.
    • 3. Episode 3

      22 Dec '21
      As the Nazis begin sending Jews to prison, João must persuade Aracy that he’s serious about joining her rescue efforts.
    • 4. Episode 4

      23 Dec '21
      As Zumkle launches an investigation of corrupt officials in Hamburg, he looks to link João to the illegal sale of Brazilian visas.
    • 5. Episode 5

      27 Dec '21
      As Aracy steps up her efforts to help refugees flee Germany, Colonel Zumkle continues to try and come between her and João.
    • 6. Episode 6

      28 Dec '21
      Following an attempt by the resistance to assassinate a top Nazi, Zumkle redoubles his efforts to get João reassigned from Hamburg.
    • 7. Episode 7

      29 Dec '21
    • 7. Episode 7

      07 Jan '22
      Faced with the Nazis’ ban on Jewish emigration, Aracy reluctantly enlists Zumkle to help her get a pair of children out of the country before it’s too late.
    • 8. Episode 8

      30 Dec '21