• Wong Kar-Wai's Informal Trilogy (1990 - 2004)

    Wong Kar-Wai's Informal Trilogy (1990 - 2004 )

    Average Rating 4.0
    • Overview
    • It’s somewhat limiting to refer to Days of Being Wild, In the Mood for Love and 2046 collectively as Wong Kar Wai’s “Informal Trilogy.” Yes, these three films recycle some characters and continually allude to events from their respective predecessors (or even, especially in the case of Wild’s quizzical final scene, to their successors). Despite their diegetic similarities, what really distinguishes these films as a single – and truly singular – narrative is not the complex inter-textual relationship between characters and plotlines, but their surprisingly linear emotional chronicle of romance’s tragic ramifications.
Titles in Wong Kar-Wai's Informal Trilogy (3)