• Air date: 17 Dec '83 5 episodes
      Through the eyes of ten-year-old Alexander, we witness the delights and conflicts of the Ekdahl family, a sprawling bourgeois clan in turn-of-the-twentieth-century Sweden.
  • List of Episodes (5)
    • 1. The Ekhdal Family Celebrates Christmas

      17 Dec '83
      Young Alexander glimpses the supernatural before the scattered branches of his family gather at his grandmother's house for a traditional Christmas party. Episode One contains the Prologue and the First Act: The Ekdahl Family Celebrates Christmas.
    • 2. The Ghost & Break-up

      17 Dec '83
      In this episode, Alexander's family is torn apart by the death of his father and his mother's subsequent marriage to the icy priest Vergérus. Episode Two contains the Second Act: The Ghost Rehearsal and the Third Act: Breakup.
    • 3. Events of Summer

      17 Dec '83
      In this penultimate episode, Fanny and Alexander continue to suffer at the hands of their cruel stepfather while a series of ghosts pay visits to the living. Episode Three contains the Fourth Act: Events of Summer.
    • 4. Demons

      17 Dec '83
      In this final episode, Isak plots to rescue Fanny and Alexander from their stepfather. Episode Four contains the Fifth Act: Demons and the Epilogue.
    • 5. Episode 5

      24 Dec '83